Big Bash League 2022

The Big Bash League 2022, Australia’s premier Twenty20 cricket competition, is now open.

The success of the Indian Premier League inspired the creation of the Big Bash in 2011. It was comprised eight teams with six locations. Sydney and Melbourne each had two teams while Brisbane, Hobart and Adelaide each had one.

The Perth Scorchers are the most recent champions in the BBL. They beat the Sydney Sixers to win their fourth title in BBL 11. This was the fifth meeting between these two teams. The first was in the inaugural Big Bash League, which was won by Sydney Sixers. They beat the Scorchers seven to one at the WACA.

Under the guidance of Darren Lehmann the Brisbane Heat won the second edition. The Perth Scorchers were back-to-back in 2013-14, 2014-15.

After enduring four difficult seasons, the Sydney Thunder won their maiden title for 2015-16.

In the 2016-17 season, Perth won the title by beating the Sixers by nine wickets. The Adelaide Strikers took the title with a win over Hobart Hurricanes in 2018.

After a spectacular win over the Stars, the Melbourne Renegades won their first title in 2019.

The previous season Big Bash League 2021 (BBL 11), which ran from 5th to 28th December 2021.

The current season Big Bash League 2022, which begun from 13th December 2022, will end on 4th Feb 2023.

Big Bash League 2022

Here are all the winners of the popular Big Bash League over the years


Year Winner Runners-Up Result
2020-21 Sydney Sixers Perth Scorchers Sydney Sixers won by 27 runs
2019-20 Sydney Sixers Melbourne Stars Sydney Sixers won by 19 runs
2018-19 Melbourne Renegades Melbourne Stars Melbourne Renegades won by 13 runs
2017-18 Adelaide Strikers Hobart Hurricanes Adelaide Strikers won by 25 runs
2016-17 Perth Scorchers Sydney Sixers Perth Scorchers won by 9 wickets
2015-16 Sydney Thunder Melbourne Stars Sydney Thunder won by 3 wickets
2014-15 Perth Scorchers Sydney Sixers Perth Scorchers won by 4 wickets
2013-14 Perth Scorchers Hobart Hurricanes Perth Scorchers won by 39 runs
2012-13 Brisbane Heat Perth Scorchers Brisbane Heat won by 34 runs
2011-12 Sydney Sixers Perth Scorchers Sydney Sixers won by 7 wickets

Big Bash League 2022 Teams

The Big Bash League 2022 currently has eight teams. With three titles each, the Sydney Sixers are the most successful franchises. The trophy has been lifted once by the Adelaide Strikers and Melbourne Renegades as well as Brisbane Heat, Sydney Thunder, and Brisbane Heat. The championship has never been won by Melbourne Stars or Hobart Hurricanes.

Details about the teams in the Big Bash League 2022

1) Sydney Sixers

Sydney Sixers won BBL’s inaugural edition. They beat Perth Scorchers to win the final. Sixers were one of the most consistent teams at the tournament. Sydney Thunder was also present, so it was difficult for them to recruit. They were able to strike gold from the beginning under Brad Haddin’s captaincy.

They finished third in the league stage and defeated Hobart Hurricanes to reach the semi-final, before beating Perth in the final. They finished seventh in the points table for their next season. They didn’t win the title for several years but Sydney Sixers made up for it with back-to-back titles for 2019-20 and 2021-22. The Big Bash League 2022 title went to them.

Although Sixers have had many captains in the past, including Marcus North and Steve Smith, Moises Henriques is their most successful captain. He has been a leader of the team for many years and continues to enjoy great success. Over the 11 seasons of BBL, Mitchell Starc and Steve Smith were all part of the Sydney Sixers.


2) Perth Scorchers

Perth Scorchers, a franchise that is based in Perth, is one of the most consistent and successful teams in the tournament. The Perth Scorchers are currently led by Mitchell Marsh. They were runners-up in the first two editions (BBL) of BBL. They won the 2013-14 edition, and then won again the next season. After finishing third in the 2015-16 season, Perth won their third record title in 2016-17.

Despite this, the Perth Scorchers have not had a great season in 2019, 2020, and have never made it to the playoffs. But in the previous year big bash league season they were close to winning the title & are the favourites to win the current Big Bash League 2022 season.

3) Melbourne Renegades

They aren’t the most consistent sides of the BBL. This is disappointing considering they had many promising players. In 7 of 10 editions, they failed to qualify for playoffs. They do hold a BBL title. They beat Melbourne Stars to the title in the final of the 2018-19 championship.

From 2012 to 2020, Aaron Finch was the Renegades captain. This season, however, Nic Maddinson, with David Saker serving as coach, will be leading the unit. In the next season, the Renegades side will be closely followed by the Indians. Unmukt Chand was the first Indian to be drafted in the Renegades franchise’s shift to the USA. He will be closely examined.

4) Melbourne Stars

The Stars are the IPL equivalent of Royal Challengers Bangalore. There are many stars in the team, but no trophies. They made it to the playoffs 8 times in 10 seasons, finishing runners-up three times. But the trophy is still missing.

Shane Warne and Peter Handscomb, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, and Marcus Stoinis are all Stars players. Maxwell is currently the Stars’ leader. The Melbourne Derby is one the most watched matches in BBL.

5) Adelaide Strikers

The Adelaide Strikers have been hot and cold as the Big Bash League’s 2017-18 edition. They began the BBL poorly, finishing 6th-5th, 7th, and 7th on each year’s points table. They picked up the pace in subsequent editions and were the top scorers.

The Strikers didn’t have a successful last season as they were eliminated in the Eliminator defeat by Sydney Thunder. Peter Siddle is currently the Strikers’ leader, with Rashid Khan as their trump card.

6) Brisbane Heat

Brisbane Heat is one of the most popular franchises in BBL history. Their top-order has always been strong and their bowling team is outstanding. Brisbane Heat beat Perth Scorchers to win the second edition.

Although the Brisbane side has always had some great players, the team has not always been on the right side. Brisbane Heat have never been able, barring the season as champions. Chris Lynn is the leader of the team.

7) Sydney Thunder

Thunder , the other team from Sydney won the fifth edition Big Bash League. In the first two years of the tournament, the team did not perform well. They were at the bottom of points tables the first three years, and seventh the next season. They managed a remarkable turnaround and won the 2015-16 BBL championship. They were the most watched team in Australia that season.

Thunder, apart from winning the title in 2015-16 has been below par. Thunder have been unable to qualify for the playoffs seven times, with only fourth place last year.

8) Hurricanes of Hobart

Hobart Hurricanes is the other team that has never received the BBL trophy. They have qualified twice, but they have never won it. They have been fairly consistent and made it to the playoffs five out of 10.

George Bailey and Time Paine were the longest-serving captains of Hobart. Peter Handscomb is currently the team’s leader. Jofra Archer is the most notable Hobarts member, having made quite a name for herself in BBL 7.