Which Powerplay Players Have the Best Bowling Figure?

The bowling aspect of a T20 is arguably more complicated than the other because this is a batter-dominated format, but it is also why the role is so important.
Bowling on the powerplay is a challenge because opposing batters want to score runs quickly and take advantage of the fielding restrictions. In this scenario, if a bowler can prevent batters from scoring runs and even dismiss them, the bowling team takes control of the match.

Here are the top five bowlers in the IPL with the best bowling figures in an innings.

1. Pat Cummins:

Pat Cummins drew attention with his 15 crore price tag during the IPL auction, and the Australian pacer proved his worth in the 54th match of the IPL 2020, picking up four wickets in three overs while Kolkata Knight Riders were defending a total of 192. KKR eventually won the game by 60 runs.

2. Dhawal Kulkarni:

To advance to the IPL Finals, Royal Challengers Bangalore had to chase down a target of 159 in the IPL 1st Qualifier. Dhawal Kulkarni of the Gujarat Lions, on the other hand, made life difficult for the home team by taking four wickets in three overs during the powerplay while conceding only eight runs. RCB, on the other hand, won the match by four wickets.

3. Deepak Chahar:

Deepak Chahar, an Indian all-rounder, was a revelation in the IPL 2021 and was subsequently sold for Rs 14 crores in the IPL 2022. After being assigned to bat first in the 15th match of the IPL 2021, CSK recorded a total of 220/3, while Chahar stifled KKR’s prospects by scooping up four wickets in three overs inside the powerplay. Chahar let up 16 runs in the match, which CSK won by 18 runs.

4. Ishant Sharma:

Ishant Sharma, an Indian bowler who has played in over 100 test matches, has recorded the highest bowling numbers for a player inside the powerplay in IPL history. Deccan Chargers bowlers Ishant Sharma and Dale Steyn joined forces in the 32nd encounter of the IPL 2011 to destroy the Kochi batting line-up despite defending a paltry total of 129. In the powerplay, Sharma got five wickets for just 12 runs. His victims were Mahela Jayawardene, Parthiv Patel, Raiphi Gomez, Brad Hodge, and Kedar Jadhav.

5. Ajit Chandila:

Ajit Chandila, a lanky off-spinner, drew attention with his hattrick in the IPL 2012’s 60th match against Pune Warriors India. After electing to bat first, Rajasthan Royals amassed 170 runs. Jesse Ryder and Sourav Ganguly were both dismissed by Chandila in the first over of the second innings. On the first ball of his following over, he dismissed Robin Uthappa. In the three overs he bowled inside the powerplay, Chandila captured four wickets for only nine runs as RR went on to win by 45 runs.

Leave a Comment