IPL Teams 2021: Kolkata Knight Riders – News, Schedule, Playing 11, New Facts

History: The Kolkata Knight Riders represent the vibrant city of Kolkata, the capital city of West Bengal, the eastern state of India. The team was founded in the year of 2008 and is one of the founding teams of the IPL. The team initially adorn the black knight riders jersey, but soon KKR changed their jerseys to purple and golden. The team qualified for the IPL playoffs first time in 2011. The home ground of the team is Eden Gardens, Kolkata. 

Read an extensive IPL Betting Tips analysis.

The franchise won two IPL titles in IPL2012 and IPL2014.

IPL Teams 2021: Kolkata Knight Riders - News, Schedule, Playing 11, New Facts

 Franchise & Sponsors

The auction of the franchise was under the hammer in the year 2007, under the supervision of BCCI. Celebrities like Juhi Chawla and Shahrukh Khan bought the team at a whopping amount of 75.09 million USD. The team was now valued at 88 million USD in 2019.


Red Chillies Entertainment (55%)

-Mehta Group (45%)


Wrogn, Active, MPL, Unacademy, Lux Cozi


Kolkata released six players from its previous year’s squad, and it has INR 10.75 crore in its purse. The franchise has to fill eight remaining slots after this release.

The released players of KKR are Tom Banton, Chris Green, Nikhil Naik, Siddharth M, Harry Gurner, and Siddhesh Lad. 

The franchise bought the following players out of his purse of 10.75 crore

  • Shakib Al Hasan for Rs 3.2 crores.
  • Sheldon Jackson for Rs 20 lakhs.
  • Vaibhav Arora for Rs 20 lakhs
  • Karun Nair for 50 lakhs
  • Harbhajan Singh for 2cr
  • Ben Cutting for 75lakhs
  • Venkatesh Iyer (20 lakhs)
  • Pawan Negi (50 lakhs)


Coach: Brendon McCullum


Eoin Morgan 

Rahul Tripathi 

Karun Nair

Nitish Rana 

Rinku Singh 

Shubman Gill 

All Rounder

Shakib Al Hasan 

Ben Cutting 

Andre Russell 

Pawan Negi 

Venkatesh Iyer 

Shivam Mavi 


Dinesh Karthik 

Sheldon Jackson 

Tim Seifert 


Harbhajan Singh 

Sunil Narine 

Varun Chakravarthy 

Kuldeep Yadav 

Sandeep Warrier 

Lockie Ferguson 

Pat Cummins 

Prasidh Krishna 

Vaibhav Arora 

Kamlesh Nagarkoti 

Potential 11

Shubman Gill, Rahul Tripathi, Nitish Rana, Eoin Morgan(c), Andre Russell, Dinesh Karthik(wk), Sunil Narine, Pat Cummins, Shivam Mavi, Kuldeep Yadav/Varun Chakravarthy, Kamlesh Nagarkoti

Foreign players

Eoin Morgan

Ben Cutting 

Andre Russell 

Sheldon Jackson 

Tim Seifert 

Lockie Ferguson 

Pat Cummins

Shakib Al Hasan 

Social media handles

Twitter- @KKRiders

shopping URLKKR Shop

websiteOfficial KKR

Instagram– KKR

Related Hashtags

#KarboLorboJeetbo #KKR #KKRHaiTaiyaar #IPL2021

KKR In News

  1. Gurkeerat Singh Mann replaces Rinku Singh in KKR. Rinku has suffered a knee injury that will rule him out of the entire season
  2. Batsman Nitish Rana had tested positive for the Coronavirus after reporting for the training camp. But, soon, he was tested negative after self-quarantine.
  3. Eion Morgan confirms he is recovering well from a hand injury and will indeed join the opening season of IPL2021, and he joined the team soon.

Fixtures Of KKR

1. 11-04 – Chennai – Sunrisers Hyderabad vs. Kolkata Knight Riders, 7.30 pm

2. 13-04 – Chennai – Kolkata Knight Riders vs. Mumbai Indians, 7.30 pm

3. 18-04 – Chennai – Royal Challengers Bangalore vs. Kolkata Knight Riders, 3.30 pm

4. 21-04 – Mumbai – Kolkata Knight Riders vs. Chennai Super Kings, 7.30 pm

5. 24-04 – Mumbai – Rajasthan Royals vs. Kolkata Knight Riders, 7.30 pm

6. 26-04 – Ahmedabad – Punjab Kings vs. Kolkata Knight Riders, 7.30 pm

7. 29-04 – Ahmedabad – Delhi Capitals vs. Kolkata Knight Riders, 7.30 pm

8. 03-05 – Ahmedabad – Kolkata Knight Riders vs. Royal Challengers Bangalore, 7.30 pm

9. 08-05 – Ahmedabad – Kolkata Knight Riders vs. Delhi Capitals, 3.30 pm

10. 10-05 – Bangalore – Mumbai Indians vs. Kolkata Knight Riders, 7.30 pm

11. 12-05 – Bangalore – Chennai Super Kings vs. Kolkata Knight Riders, 7.30 pm

12. 15-05 – Bangalore – Kolkata Knight Riders vs. Punjab Kings, 7.30 pm

13. 18-05 – Bangalore – Kolkata Knight Riders vs. Rajasthan Royals, 7.30 pm

14. 21-05 – Bangalore – Kolkata Knight Riders vs. Sunrisers Hyderabad, 3.30 pm.


In IPL History

a) Highest opening partnership –  In 2017- Gambhir and Chris Lynn Vs. Gujarat Lions scored 184 runs in partnership in 15 overs.

b) Highest run chase in IPL final– In 2014, vs. Punjab Kings, KKR chased 200 runs target.

c) Bowled out the opponent for the lowest team total- KKR bowled out the whole Rajasthan Royals team in 59 runs only. 

d) Most consecutive wins in IPL– KKR won 10 matches consecutively in IPL.

e) Highest score in powerplay– KKR scored 105 runs in powerplay without any wicket loss.

In-team Records-

  • Most Catches– Manoj Tiwary; 34 catches
  • Most Ducks– Gautam Gambhir; 12 ducks
  • Lowest Team Score– 67/10 (In 2008 vs. Mumbai Indians)
  • Highest Team Score– 245/6 (In 2018 vs. Punjab Kings)
  • Most Successful run chase- 206 run chase( in 2019 vs. Rajasthan Royals)
  • Most Sixes– Andre Russell; 117 sixes
  • Most Half-Century– Gautam Gambhir; 30 half-centuries.
  • Most Centuries– Mc Cullum 1 century Mc Cullum is the only player who scored a century of 158runs for KKR in entire IPL history.
  • Most Wickets– S Naraine; 122 runs
  • Most Runs– Gautam Gambhir; 122 matches, 3345 runs

Kolkata Knight Riders Preview

KKR are struggling to win the IPL trophy post-Gautam Gambhir era. Though the franchise has retained 17 of its players, some additions can prove themselves change bearer to the team. With world cup winner skipper Eoin Morgan is now the full-time captain of KKR. The franchise now has the grease of Ben Cutting and Shakib Al Hasan like all-rounders. The team pacers spearhead includes Pat Cummins and Lockie Ferguson. But the team spinning ledger is relatively shallow as Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Sunil Narine are not in good form. However, some players like Harbhajan Singh, Subham Gill, Vaibhav Arora, Venkatesh Iyer, and Dinesh Karthik gravely need this IPL2021 opportunity to keep themselves up in the game.

Leave a Comment