IPL Teams 2021: Delhi Capitals – News, Schedule, Playing 11, New Facts

The franchise of Delhi Capitals was auctioned in 2008 IPL by the BCCI. The team represents the capital city of India, Delhi NCR. The team has not won any trophy yet. After a gap of 12 years, the team faced Mumbai Indians in IPL 2020 final. The team qualifies for the IPL playoffs in 2019 for the first time in seven years. Initially, the team was named Delhi Daredevils but in 2018 franchise and sponsor decide to change the name to Delhi Capitals, as they believe that Delhi is the capital city and India’s power center. 

Read an extensive IPL Betting Tips analysis.

IPL Teams 2021: Delhi Capitals - News, Schedule, Playing 11, New Facts

Owners of Delhi Capitals

JSW Group (50%) GMR Group (50%)

The property magnet GMR group bought the franchise for 84 million USD. Later on, they sold a 50 percent stake of the team to the JSW sports at 77 million USD.

Sponsors of DC

Wrogn Active, JSW Group, EbixCash, APL, Apollo Steel Tubes.

IPL 2021 Auction Recap

Players released after IPL 2020: Alex Carey, Keemo Paul, Tushar Deshpande, Sandeep Lamichhane, Mohit Sharma, Jason Roy

Player traded out: Harshal Patel, Daniel Sams.

New inclusions: Steve Smith, Umesh Yadav, Ripal Patel, Vishnu Vinod, Lukman Meriwala, M Siddarth, Tom Curran, Sam Billings

After releasing some players, DC wasn’t left with a lot of purses to buy on.

Salary cap remaining: Rs 13.40 crores  

Budget spent: 11.25 cr

Overall slots remaining: 8

Overseas slots remaining: 3

DC Squad / Players

Coach– Ricky Ponting

Assistant Coach– Ajay Ratra

Captain – Shreyas Iyer

Probable XI: Shikhar Dhawan, Marcus Stoinis, Ajinkya Rahane, Tom Curran, Rishabh Pant (WK), Shimron Hetmyer, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje & Ishant Sharma


  • Ajinkya Rahane
  • Prithvi Shaw 
  • Shikhar Dhawan 
  • Shimron Hetmyer 
  • Steve Smith 


  • Rishabh Pant 
  • Sam Billings 
  • Vishnu Vinod 


  • Avesh Khan 
  • Ishant Sharma 
  • Anrich Nortje 
  • Kagiso Rabada 
  • Praveen Dubey 
  • Amit Mishra
  • Umesh Yadav 
  • Lukman Meriwala 
  • M Siddharth 


  • Lalit Yadav 
  • Axar Patel 
  • Ravichandran Ashwin 
  • Chris Woakes 
  • Marcus Stoinis 
  • Tom Curran 
  • Ripal Patel

Overseas Players

  • Shimron Hetmyer 
  • Tom Curran
  • Anrich Nortje
  • Kagiso Rabada 
  • Daniel Sams
  • Marcus Stoinis
  • Steve Smith
  • Sam Billing

Schedule of DC

  1. 10-04 – Mumbai – Chennai Super Kings vs. Delhi Capitals, 7.30 pm 
  2. 15-04 – Mumbai – Rajasthan Royals vs. Delhi Capitals, 7.30 pm 
  3. 18-04 – Mumbai – Delhi Capitals vs. Punjab Kings, 7.30 pm 
  4. 20-04 – Chennai – Delhi Capitals vs. Mumbai Indians, 7.30 pm 
  5. 25-04 – Chennai – Sunrisers Hyderabad vs. Delhi Capitals, 7.30 pm
  6. 27-04 – Ahmedabad – Delhi Capitals vs. Royal Challengers Bangalore, 7.30 pm 
  7. 29-04 – Ahmedabad – Delhi Capitals vs. Kolkata Knight Riders, 7.30 pm 
  8. 02-05 – Ahmedabad – Punjab Kings vs. Delhi Capitals, 7.30 pm 
  9. 08-05 – Ahmedabad – Kolkata Knight Riders vs. Delhi Capitals, 3.30 pm 
  10. 11-05 – Kolkata – Delhi Capitals vs. Rajasthan Royals, 7.30 pm 
  11. 14-05 – Kolkata – Royal Challengers Bangalore vs. Delhi Capitals, 7.30 pm 
  12. 17-05 – Kolkata – Delhi Capitals vs. Sunrisers Hyderabad, 7.30 pm 
  13. 21-05 – Kolkata – Delhi Capitals vs. Chennai Super Kings, 7.30 pm 
  14. 23-05 – Kolkata – Mumbai Indians vs. Delhi Capitals, 3.30 pm

Hashtags of DC












Social Media Handles

Twitter- DC Handle

Website- Official DC

Facebook- DelhiCapitalsOfficial

Instagram- DC instagram

DC in News

  • DC all-rounder Axar Patel tested positive for coronavirus.
  • Shreyas Iyer, not expected to join the DC after the injury.
  • DC adorned a new jersey for this season of IPL.

Records of DC in the IPL history

In-team records:

  • Most catches- Virender Sehwag:30 catches
  • Most ducks- Virender Sehwag: 7 times
  • Highest individual score- Rishabh Pant – 128 runs vs. Hyderabad (IPL 2018)
  • Rishabh Pant also holds the record of being the only Indian player to score the highest in IPL all seasons.
  • Most sixes- Rishabh Pant (94 sixes)
  • Lowest team total- 67runs vs. Punjab (IPL 2017) 
  • Highest team total- 231/4 vs. Punjab (IPL 2011)
  • Most half-century- Virender Sehwag (18 half-centuries)
  • Most centuries-
    • Rishabh Pant- 1
    • David Warner- 1
    • Sanju Samson- 1
  • Most wickets- Amit Mishra; 90 wickets in 85 matches
  • Most runs- Virender Sehwag (From IPL2008- to IPL2013); in 86 matches, 2382 runs

DC Preview

The Capitals have a fantastic fast bowlers combo in Kagiso, Canada’s name (previous year purple cap winner), and Anrich Nortje. Other notable fast bowlers include world cup 2019 winner Chris Woakes, Marcus Stoinis, and Tom Curran. In the domestic fast bowlers, the team has Umesh Yadav, Lukman Meriwala, and Avesh Khan.

The team doesn’t have any Indian alternative for the wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant. If Pant misses any match, then taking any foreign player in his spot can disharmonize the team’s balance.

The spinners like Ravichandran Ashwin and Amit Mishra don’t have any alternative for them, and as we have witnessed, how often these two spinners got injured in the last few years do raise some concerns for the spinning zone of the team. However, Pravin Dubey, M Siddharth, Axar Patel are some spinners options in the team, but except Axar Patel, no other spinner is in good form. 

For more detailed match analysis, keep scrolling the website, and for accurate betting predictions, join Faizal Guru.

Leave a Comment